PDA

View Full Version : New writer has 2 questions

Defpotec
06-24-2006, 05:13 PM
Hi, I'm new round these parts and just starting to get my feet wet as it comes to writing. Anyway I have two questions:

1: How do I go about copy righting my work? Hopefully for free?

2: Would English be a major to pursue? (I'm a sophomore at SDSU.)

Thanks guys.

kdmelrose
06-24-2006, 05:17 PM
1. U.S. Copyright Office FAQ (http://www.copyright.gov/help/faq/)

2. It's as good as any.

Buckyrig
06-24-2006, 05:40 PM
Liberal Arts would be a pretty good idea. Broad base of knowledge. I think history and philosophy are good places to find ideas myself.

Lovecraft13
06-24-2006, 06:30 PM
Hi, I'm new round these parts and just starting to get my feet wet as it comes to writing. Anyway I have two questions:

You do not have to be an English major to write stories. It'd only introduce you to stories you may or may not already know. However, you can do that on your own. It's not the college major that'll define you as a writer but life around you. Observe people, events, listen in on conversations, stab a man in the eye, kick a puppy, etc. Once you learn why a person is interesting, then you make your characters interesting.

Oh, and one more thing. Don't start off plotting out a 12-issue epic storyline. Start small. Expand from there.

Boy
06-24-2006, 09:00 PM
Lots of writers have majored in journalism. Just in case you didn't know.

T.J. May
06-24-2006, 09:26 PM
Lots of writers have majored in journalism. Just in case you didn't know.

True, but the best advice I ever received was to get out of journalism and study writing. Journalism is a style, and that's all you are going to get out of most journalism courses. But a writing degree, or an English degree, is going to teach how to think and tell a story. You can pick up on the AP style later.