Go Back   Digital Webbing Forums > Talent Engine > Creator Community

Old 06-30-2019, 04:11 AM   #1
fourth_world

fourth_world will become famous soon enough

Keeping Your Dialogue on Track

So I've written a couple of comics before without any significant issues. I determined a process that worked for me. However, with this particular comic, I've never hit so many roadblocks that I would love to get through.

For instance, I have been fleshing out this one particular story for several years now. I know the characters pretty well. The entire comic (or "graphic novella" to be more precise) is surrounded around a single conversation between two people in one location. I think I figured out a way to really make it outstanding. (I've told the story to several people and they've all been really intrigued by it.)

Last month, I developed an outline for the comic that I was mostly alright with. Writer friends kept suggesting to me to just finish the outline and write the script and not worry about making the outline perfect. So I'm trying that and I figure once I get an editor to look at this draft then I can fix any flaws in the outline.

Once I got to writing the script, I couldn't figure out whether to start with page beats and then fill in with panel descriptions and dialogue (as I did the previous comics) or start with dialogue and then split it up into panels with descriptions. The second made most sense in this case and it's what I read some big name pros do. But now I'm trying to write the dialogue and the conversation is just meandering and rambling (similar to this post haha). I'm currently on page 7 of the script and I can't seem to progress the conversation ahead to the next beat and follow my outline no matter how hard I try. So my story/script is stuck in the mud, so to speak.