Go Back   Digital Webbing Forums > Talent Engine > Artist Showcase

Old 03-19-2013, 10:04 PM   #1
Broma

Broma is on a distinguished road

New colorist looking for input advice and critique

Hello everyone and thank you for taking the time to click on this post. I'm new to the coloring scene and am going for an anime/ manga style looking for any input or advice on how to improve. My end goal with my art is to have published comic work. I know I have a long journey ahead of me. Thanks in advance for any help at all.

Broma is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 03-19-2013, 11:20 PM   #2
mikeorion22

mikeorion22 has a spectacular aura aboutmikeorion22 has a spectacular aura about

good effort, are you looking to just become a colorist or to color and draw your own work? if your working on coloring i would find professional samples to work on. there are a couple of groups on deviant art that supply hi res lines and flats. if your working on an anime/ manga feel it might be better to use a cel shaded look. james gurney is a great painter and teacher that has released very useful books on color and light. you have a great attitude and will improve the more you practice the right way
mikeorion22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 11:25 PM   #3
Broma

I'm just looking to be a colorist. Though I really respect and admire drawing it isn't my strong suite I focused more on CGI with maya and Zbrush. Thank you very much for the recombination. Going to go check amazon for the books now then off to DA to see if I can find the groups you mentioned.
Old 03-20-2013, 10:43 AM   #4
johnjohn

johnjohn is just really nicejohnjohn is just really nicejohnjohn is just really nicejohnjohn is just really nicejohnjohn is just really nicejohnjohn is just really nice

Very bright clean images.

+1 to the above advice.

Try experimenting with using colour to create a sense of depth and shadowing, as well as doing some light studies.