Go Back   Digital Webbing Forums > Talent Engine > Creator Community

Old 04-15-2006, 03:15 PM   #1
ty gorton

ty gorton is on a distinguished road

Confessions of a Comic Book Creator (update topic)

(had one of these posted before, can't find it so I'm reposting)

I have been working in comics for about 5 years now. Most of that time was spent toiling on submissions and trying to get material in print. Getting Runes of Ragnan accepted at Image/Shadowline late 2005 was a big step.

I am releasing a series of articles that share what I've learned about comics. There is NO reason others should have to suffer the same mistakes I did trying to get a book out there. The articles are full of advice about how to produce comics, how to connect with talent, what to expect, and the essentials you'll need to succeed.

Please check them out if you are interested in a career in comics. I'm putting a lot of hours in for the sole purpose of helping others get a head start on their goal.

NEWEST ARTICLE:

7.10.06 - Evolving Beyond the Boogeyman of Idea Theft

PREVIOUS ARTICLES:

5.13.06 - The Value of Truth

4.27.06 - Changing Perceptions: The Day to Day Battle

4.24.06 - Technology and the Struggle for Control

4.21.06 - Hello Mr. Deadline, Let�s Do Business

4.17.06 - Finding Your Voice in a Culture of Fake Believe

4.15.06 - Diamond Previews and the Power of Issue #1

4.13.06 - Being Good Isn�t Good Enough

4.10.06 - MONEY and the Infinite Lack There Of

4.02.06 - Take Two Ashley Woods and Call Me When You Kick Ass

3.28.06 - The Art of Productivity: Conquering Creative Block

3.27.06 - We Are The Guardians of Legend

3.23.06 - The Power of Simplicity: Genre and Title

3.22.06 - Submissions: The 5 Page Trap

3.21.06 - Zero to Comic Book Page Part 02: Stages 4 to Finished

Zero to Comic Book Page Part 01: Stages 1-3 of Production

The Web Factor Part 01: Connecting With Talent

The Myth of More

The Art of Collaboration: Writing for Artists

Ten Essentials for Creating Comics